Indigenous Sports Queensland



The National Indigenous Rugby Championships will be held on the Gold Coast from the 2-4 August. The U16 Championship, which is coordinated by the Lloyd McDermott Foundation, will host a team from both North and South Queensland.

The North Queensland representatives were picked from the teams that competed in the North Queensland Indigenous Rugby Carnival in June. The competition was contested by teams from Cairns, Townsville, Mackay and Rockhampton.

The South Queensland Team held a selection day at Ballymore on June 22 and the team was chosen from players from Hervey Bay, Murgon, Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Brisbane, Ipswich, and the Gold Coast. More than 50 players participated on the day. The event, which was supported by PASS Australia, consisted of coaching sessions a series of trial matches.

Congratulations to everyone who participated and especially those who were chosen as a part of the Queensland teams.

(see below for team lists)

Townsville & Mackay Teams
Townsville & Mackay Teams

North Queensland Team

Dusty Chirgwin - Emmaus College
Blair Toby - Mt Morgan SHS
Michael Murphy - Mackay SHS
Ipad Nona - Trinity Bay SHS
Sakeo Valevou - Woree SHS
Jesse Meinicke - Pioneer SHS
Passey Namai - Djarragun College
Morris Hodges - St Mary's Catholic College
Louis Leo - Proserpine SHS
Eden Campbell O’Brian - Townsville Grammar School
Malcom Congoo - Kirwan SHS
Maipele Morseau - St Brendan's College
Bazie Jacko - Mackay Christian College
Paul Walit - Djarragun College
Denzel Mooney - Emmaus College
Rhett Kissier - Mackay SHS
Mathio Newie - Woree SHS
Zemeth Tabuai - Djarragun College
Eddie Tomasana - Townsville Grammar School
Joel Marama - Trinity Bay SHS
Morgan Waigana - Trinity Bay SHS
Frank Lowah - Cairns SHS
Stephen Whap - The Cathedral School
Mark Alfred - Townsville SHS
Chris Congoo - Kirwan SHS
Cameron Wilson - St Brendan's College

South Queensland Team

Pompy Toolis - Marist College Ashgrove
Zac Binawel - Balmoral SHS
Michael Dalton - Marist College Ashgrove
Robert Kennedy - Ipswich Grammar
Corey Carlson - Clontarf Beach SHS
Keron Kolo Buckle - Balmoral SHS
Nick Harold - Palm Beach Currumbin
Connie Pearson - Brisbane Boys College
Laurie Elisala - Marist College Ashgrove
Kane Fuller - Ipswich Grammar
Aiden Kemla - Ipswich Grammar
Emmanuel Bell - Villanova College
Aiden Mullier - Ipswich Grammar
Samson Link - Bundamba SHS
Liam Law - Urangun SHS
Jordan Upkett - Sunnybank SHS
Gerard Parker - Ipswich SHS
Ben Atkins - Clontarf Beach SHS
Brett Mills - St Peters Lutheran College
Donny Morso - St Peters Lutheran College
Kori Cavanagh - Kings Christian College
Brad Jarro – Coach
Selwyn Button – Assitant Coach
Trevor Fourmile – Manager